Life Itself Starts Aug 15

Have you ever had something spoken over your soul via an old-timey movie theater marquee? Me neither, until yesterday.

 

So I was walking back from work, jamming out to The Oh Hellos, when I stopped dead in my tracks, because the Forum Theater has this on its marquee:

photo (3)

 

I stood there for a while, and then began to laugh.

Here’s the joke: my last day of work in the city, my last day in New Jersey, my first day of the rest of my life, is August 15. On August 15, I will leave the soul-crushing 2-hour commute, the stress of juggling two jobs, and the feeling of in-betweenness behind.

On August 15, I will take the train one last freaking time, come home, pour myself a glass of wine, and celebrate new beginnings: a new home-ish out in San Francisco; a new home in Greensboro, with my cousin Deb for a roommate and co-conspirator; a new community; what I hope will be a new part- or full-time job somewhere (don’t know yet); and the new, serious beginning of attempting to be a Writer, capital W.

There are no posters indicating what “Life Itself” even is — so I’m just going to pretend that this little sleepy town is saying goodbye to me and promising beauty ahead.

Life Itself: Starts August 15.

Maybe it’s the magic of the sign, but I have a feeling some of the best is yet to come.

2 Comments Add yours

    1. Mary Ann Rutter says:

      So excited for you! Keep on looking out for those serendipitous moments from heaven
      .

      Like

Leave a Reply

